Skip to content

Guide · safety first

Generator or power station for UK power cuts?

A petrol generator makes electricity for as long as it has fuel, but only outdoors, and it makes carbon monoxide. A battery power station runs silently next to the fridge but stops when its battery is empty. For most UK homes and most cuts, the battery wins; here's the comparison so you can decide.

petrol at home without telling anyone (HSE)
30L
battery stations to compare
14

Side by side

Petrol generator compared with a battery power station
Petrol generatorBattery power station
Where it can runOutside only, well away from doors, windows and vents. Never in the house, a garage or a shed.Indoors, next to what it powers. Nothing burns, so no fumes.
Carbon monoxideYes: the NHS lists portable generators among the causes of CO poisoning.None.
FuelPetrol. Up to 30 litres at home in suitable containers without telling anyone (HSE), and never in living accommodation.Charged from the wall beforehand, or from solar or a car while the cut lasts.
NoiseAn engine: you and the neighbours will hear it, which matters at night.Near silent; fans run under heavy load.
How long it lastsAs long as there's fuel and it's safe to refuel.Fixed by its battery (Wh), unless you can recharge it.
Heavy loadsBetter suited to high-wattage tools and long runs.From 300 W to 4,000 W continuous on our UK list; big loads drain it fast.
Connecting to the houseOnly through a changeover arrangement fitted by a qualified electrician. Never through a socket.Same rule. Plug appliances into it instead.

Carbon monoxide: the reason it can't come indoors

Fuel-burning appliances and engines can make carbon monoxide. The NHS lists portable generators among the causes, alongside barbecues and camping stoves used indoors and engines running in an enclosed space such as a garage.

Symptoms and what to do

The NHS lists headache and dizziness among the symptoms, and the HSE notes that early symptoms can be mistaken for food poisoning, a viral infection, flu or simple tiredness. If you suspect carbon monoxide, stop using the appliance if you can, go outside and get medical advice: NHS 111, or 999 in an emergency. If you think a gas appliance is leaking it, the NHS gives the free National Gas Helpline: 0800 111 999.

The NHS also advises a carbon monoxide alarm in each room with an appliance that burns gas, oil, coal or wood. That matters in a power cut, when people reach for camping stoves and heaters they don't normally use.

Storing petrol at home: the 30-litre rule

A generator is only as good as its fuel, and the HSE limits what a household can keep without telling anyone: up to 30 litres at home in suitable containers (plastic up to 10 litres each, metal up to 20 litres), and never in your living accommodation. Storing more, up to 275 litres, means notifying your local Petroleum Enforcement Authority and following its requirements.

Thirty litres runs a small generator for a while, but petrol also goes stale and needs rotating. A power station needs none of that: you top it up from the wall before the storm.

Connecting to the house: the same rule for both

Never plug a generator or a power station into a wall socket to "feed" the house. That back-feeds the house wiring and can put power onto the network outside. If you want to run house circuits, such as a boiler on a fused spur, that is a changeover installation for a qualified electrician. Otherwise, plug appliances directly into the generator or station.

The boiler question

The government's Prepare advice notes that gas boilers won't work without power. Their electrical draw is modest (about 146–177 W while firing on one common range), so a mid-size station could run one, but most are wired to a fused spur. See will a power station run a gas combi boiler.

Noise and neighbours

A generator is an engine, and because it has to run outside, your neighbours hear it too, all night if you need the fridge-freezer through the night. Battery stations are near silent: EcoFlow, for example, quotes under 30 dB for the RIVER 3 Plus on its UK page. Their fans speed up under heavy loads or fast charging.

Which one for you

  • Flat, terrace or no safe outdoor spot: a power station. A generator needs somewhere outside, away from every door, window and vent, including your neighbours'.
  • Fridge-freezer, router, lights and phones for a day: a 1,000–2,000 Wh station. The calculator sizes it for your appliances.
  • Rural home with long cuts and a workshop's worth of loads: a generator outside can make sense, with a changeover installed by an electrician and a station indoors for the quiet hours.

The battery alternative: 14 stations

From compact to whole-home, with each maker's UK figures.

AdLinks marked Ad go to Amazon.co.uk or a brand's official UK store. If you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you; it never decides what we list. We show no prices: the store shows the current one.

Compact (under 500 Wh)

  • Jackery Explorer 240 v2

    Capacity
    256 Wh
    Continuous output
    300 W
    Weight
    3.6 kg

    Pre-order on Jackery's UK store when we checked (11 October 2026): shipping from 26 October 2026.

    UK figures
    Weight
    3.6 kg
    Solar input
    Not stated on UK page
    UPS switchover
    20 ms or less
    Read on
    Jackery UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: Jackery Explorer 240 v2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus

    Capacity
    286 Wh
    Continuous output
    600 W
    Weight
    4.7 kg
    UK figures
    Weight
    4.7 kg
    Solar input
    220 W
    UPS switchover
    10 ms or less
    Read on
    EcoFlow UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: EcoFlow RIVER 3 PlusAdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • BLUETTI Elite 30 V2

    Capacity
    288 Wh
    Continuous output
    600 W
    Weight
    4.3 kg
    UK figures
    Weight
    4.3 kg
    Solar input
    Not stated on UK page
    UPS switchover
    10 ms or less
    Read on
    BLUETTI UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: BLUETTI Elite 30 V2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • Anker SOLIX C300X

    Capacity
    288 Wh
    Continuous output
    300 W
    Weight
    —

    Sold in the UK as the C300X (AC and DC outlets). The C300 DC on the same store has no mains sockets. Anker's UK page did not list its weight when we checked.

    UK figures
    Weight
    Not stated on UK page
    Solar input
    100 W
    UPS switchover
    Not stated on UK page
    Read on
    Anker SOLIX UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: Anker SOLIX C300XAdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon

Mid-size (500–1,500 Wh)

Large (over 1,500 Wh)

  • Jackery Explorer 2000 v2

    Capacity
    2,042 Wh
    Continuous output
    2,200 W
    Weight
    17.5 kg
    UK figures
    Weight
    17.5 kg
    Solar input
    400 W
    UPS switchover
    20 ms or less
    Read on
    Jackery UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: Jackery Explorer 2000 v2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus

    Capacity
    2,048 Wh
    Continuous output
    3,000 W
    Weight
    22.1 kg

    Pre-order on EcoFlow's UK store when we checked (11 October 2026): shipping from 30 October 2026. Sold on the shared DELTA 3 Max series page: pick the Max Plus.

    UK figures
    Weight
    22.1 kg
    Solar input
    1,000 W
    UPS switchover
    10 ms or less
    Read on
    EcoFlow UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max PlusAdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2

    Capacity
    2,048 Wh
    Continuous output
    2,400 W
    Weight
    18.9 kg
    UK figures
    Weight
    18.9 kg
    Solar input
    Not stated on UK page
    UPS switchover
    10 ms or less
    Read on
    Anker SOLIX UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • BLUETTI Elite 200 V2

    Capacity
    2,073.6 Wh
    Continuous output
    2,600 W
    Weight
    —
    UK figures
    Weight
    Not stated on UK page
    Solar input
    1,000 W
    UPS switchover
    Not stated on UK page
    Read on
    BLUETTI UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: BLUETTI Elite 200 V2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3

    Capacity
    4,096 Wh
    Continuous output
    4,000 W
    Weight
    51.5 kg
    UK figures
    Weight
    51.5 kg
    Solar input
    2,600 W
    UPS switchover
    10 ms or less
    Read on
    EcoFlow UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon

Questions

Can I run a petrol generator in my garage during a power cut?

No. The NHS lists portable generators among the causes of carbon monoxide poisoning, and warns that running engines in an enclosed space such as a garage can cause a build-up. Run a generator outside, well away from doors, windows and vents.

How much petrol can I store at home in the UK?

Up to 30 litres without telling your local Petroleum Enforcement Authority, according to the HSE: in suitable containers (plastic up to 10 litres, metal up to 20 litres), and never in your living accommodation. Storing more needs you to notify the authority.

Can I plug a generator into a wall socket to power my house?

No. That feeds power back into the house wiring and the network. Powering house circuits needs a changeover arrangement fitted by a qualified electrician; otherwise, plug appliances directly into the generator or power station.

Is a power station better than a generator for a power cut?

For most UK homes, yes: it runs indoors with no fumes, makes almost no noise and needs no fuel, and a 1,000 Wh station keeps a fridge-freezer, router and lights going through an evening and a night. A generator wins on long runs of heavy loads, if you have a safe outdoor place to run it.

What are the symptoms of carbon monoxide poisoning?

The NHS lists headache and dizziness among the symptoms; the HSE warns they can be confused with food poisoning, flu or tiredness. If you suspect it, go outside and get medical help: NHS 111, or 999 if it's an emergency.

Keep reading

Sources

Every figure on this page comes from one of these pages, read on the date shown. If a maker changes its page, its page wins.

See all 19 sources