Guide · UK sun, PVGIS data
Portable power station with a solar panel: what the UK sun really gives
A battery with sockets and a folding panel to refill it: on paper, power for as long as the cut lasts. In practice the UK sun is generous in June and stingy in December, the season of winter storms like Éowyn in January 2025. Here are the numbers for five UK cities, so you can buy the right panel and not expect the wrong thing.
See what a panel gives where you live
- UK cities, month by month (PVGIS)
- 5
- stations with a stated solar input
- 10
What a 200 W panel gives in the UK
Average energy a day from a 200 W panel, in kWh, from PVGIS 5.3 (European Commission), at each city's best angle, facing south, with 14 % system losses.
| City | December | January | June | July | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| London | 0.25 kWh | 0.28 kWh | 0.80 kWh | 0.78 kWh | 205 kWh |
| Cardiff | 0.22 kWh | 0.25 kWh | 0.86 kWh | 0.82 kWh | 209 kWh |
| Manchester | 0.19 kWh | 0.18 kWh | 0.72 kWh | 0.69 kWh | 178 kWh |
| Belfast | 0.18 kWh | 0.20 kWh | 0.76 kWh | 0.69 kWh | 184 kWh |
| Glasgow | 0.13 kWh | 0.16 kWh | 0.72 kWh | 0.70 kWh | 171 kWh |
In one line: in winter each 100 W of panel gives roughly 0.06–0.14 kWh a day; in summer about 0.35–0.43. A December day in Glasgow gives about half of London's, and London itself gets little more than a third of the 0.67 kWh the same panel averages in a Madrid December (PVGIS, from our Spanish guide). Summer is much more even across the country.
Why your panel will give a bit less
These are figures for a fixed panel at the best angle (39–41° here) facing due south. A folding panel propped on a garden chair, facing the wrong way or shaded at midday gives less, and a single overcast day can be far below the monthly average. For your own postcode, PVGIS is free: enter your address and the panel's watts.
Matching the panel to the station
Every station's solar input has three limits worth reading on its UK page before you buy a panel:
- Watts. From 100 W on the Anker SOLIX C300X to 2,600 W on the EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3, per their UK pages. A bigger panel than the input doesn't charge faster; some margin helps, because panels rarely deliver their rated watts.
- Volts. The panel's open-circuit voltage (on its label) must sit inside the input range: 11–55 V on the EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus, 12–60 V on the BLUETTI Elite 200 V2, two inputs of 30–150 V and 11–60 V on the DELTA Pro 3.
- Connector and number of panels. Jackery's UK page says the Explorer 500 v2 takes up to 200 W of solar: up to two 100 W panels. Makers' own bundles (station and panel together) save the guesswork.
Solar charging times the makers quote
Measured in ideal sun, they compare stations rather than predict your day. From the UK pages:
- EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus: 0–100 % in as fast as 1.5 hours with 220 W.
- EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus: full in 70 minutes with 1,000 W of solar.
- Jackery Explorer 500 v2: 2.8 hours with 200 W.
- Jackery Explorer 2000 v2: 5.5 hours with 400 W.
- BLUETTI Elite 100 V2: full in 70 minutes with 1,000 W.
- EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3: to 80 % in 1.5 hours on solar (2,600 W maximum input).
Set against the table: a 200 W panel in London averages 0.25 kWh on a December day. That is most of a 288 Wh station's charge on an average day; a 2,000 Wh station would take about eight such days.
What a solar set can keep running
What matters is the daily balance: what you use against what the panel puts back. With the reference figures of our power-cut calculator (and about 240 Wh a day the station uses itself at 10 W):
- Essentials, no fridge (router all day, three LED bulbs, two phone charges): about 685 Wh a day. In July a 200 W panel replaces it in London; in December you'd need about 550 W in London and 1,100 W in Glasgow.
- With the fridge-freezer: about 1,501 Wh a day. Around 400 W of panel in a London July; in December, about 1,250 W, which is a roof, not a folding panel.
- What it won't do: heaters, kettles or an immersion heater. One hour of a 1 kW heater uses more than a 200 W panel gives in a whole UK summer day.
For small things: a power bank
For phones, a torch and a radio you don't need a station at all: the government's Prepare list asks for a power bank, and a small panel tops one up in summer. In winter, charge it from the mains when you can.
Which set: three combinations
- Camping and summer cuts: a compact station (around 300 Wh) with a 100–220 W panel. Enough for phones, lights and a router, refilled most summer days.
- Home backup with some solar: a 1,000 Wh class station with 400 W or more of panel. Through much of the summer it can keep up with a fridge-freezer; in winter, treat solar as a top-up.
- Long winter cuts: capacity first (2,000 Wh and up), solar second. Also see how long a freezer stays frozen without power.
Solar input of the 14 stations
The fourth figure is the maximum solar input stated on each maker's UK page, read on 11 October 2026. A dash means the UK page didn't state it.
Compact (under 500 Wh)
Jackery Explorer 240 v2
- 256 Wh
- 300 W
- 3.6 kg
- —
Pre-order on Jackery's UK store when we checked (11 October 2026): shipping from 26 October 2026.
Search Amazon.co.uk: Jackery Explorer 240 v2UK figures
- 3.6 kg
- Not stated on UK page
- 20 ms or less
- Jackery UK page, 11 October 2026
EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus
- 286 Wh
- 600 W
- 4.7 kg
- 220 W
Search Amazon.co.uk: EcoFlow RIVER 3 PlusUK figures
- 4.7 kg
- 220 W
- 10 ms or less
- EcoFlow UK page, 11 October 2026
BLUETTI Elite 30 V2
- 288 Wh
- 600 W
- 4.3 kg
- —
Search Amazon.co.uk: BLUETTI Elite 30 V2UK figures
- 4.3 kg
- Not stated on UK page
- 10 ms or less
- BLUETTI UK page, 11 October 2026
Anker SOLIX C300X
- 288 Wh
- 300 W
- —
- 100 W
Sold in the UK as the C300X (AC and DC outlets). The C300 DC on the same store has no mains sockets. Anker's UK page did not list its weight when we checked.
Search Amazon.co.uk: Anker SOLIX C300XUK figures
- Not stated on UK page
- 100 W
- Not stated on UK page
- Anker SOLIX UK page, 11 October 2026
Mid-size (500–1,500 Wh)
Jackery Explorer 500 v2
- 512 Wh
- 500 W
- 5.7 kg
- 200 W
Search Amazon.co.uk: Jackery Explorer 500 v2UK figures
- 5.7 kg
- 200 W
- 10 ms or less
- Jackery UK page, 11 October 2026
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus
- 1,024 Wh
- 1,800 W
- 12.5 kg
- 1,000 W
EcoFlow UK sells it on the shared DELTA 3 series page: pick the Plus.
Search Amazon.co.uk: EcoFlow DELTA 3 PlusUK figures
- 12.5 kg
- 1,000 W
- 10 ms or less
- EcoFlow UK page, 11 October 2026
BLUETTI Elite 100 V2
- 1,024 Wh
- 1,800 W
- 11.5 kg
- 1,000 W
Search Amazon.co.uk: BLUETTI Elite 100 V2UK figures
- 11.5 kg
- 1,000 W
- 10 ms or less
- BLUETTI UK page, 11 October 2026
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2
- 1,024 Wh
- 2,000 W
- 11.3 kg
- 600 W
Search Amazon.co.uk: Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2UK figures
- 11.29 kg
- 600 W
- 10 ms or less
- Anker SOLIX UK page, 11 October 2026
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2
- 1,070 Wh
- 1,500 W
- —
- —
Search Amazon.co.uk: Jackery Explorer 1000 v2UK figures
- Not stated on UK page
- Not stated on UK page
- 20 ms or less
- Jackery UK page, 11 October 2026
Large (over 1,500 Wh)
Jackery Explorer 2000 v2
- 2,042 Wh
- 2,200 W
- 17.5 kg
- 400 W
Search Amazon.co.uk: Jackery Explorer 2000 v2UK figures
- 17.5 kg
- 400 W
- 20 ms or less
- Jackery UK page, 11 October 2026
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus
- 2,048 Wh
- 3,000 W
- 22.1 kg
- 1,000 W
Pre-order on EcoFlow's UK store when we checked (11 October 2026): shipping from 30 October 2026. Sold on the shared DELTA 3 Max series page: pick the Max Plus.
Search Amazon.co.uk: EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max PlusUK figures
- 22.1 kg
- 1,000 W
- 10 ms or less
- EcoFlow UK page, 11 October 2026
Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2
- 2,048 Wh
- 2,400 W
- 18.9 kg
- —
Search Amazon.co.uk: Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2UK figures
- 18.9 kg
- Not stated on UK page
- 10 ms or less
- Anker SOLIX UK page, 11 October 2026
BLUETTI Elite 200 V2
- 2,073.6 Wh
- 2,600 W
- —
- 1,000 W
Search Amazon.co.uk: BLUETTI Elite 200 V2UK figures
- Not stated on UK page
- 1,000 W
- Not stated on UK page
- BLUETTI UK page, 11 October 2026
EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3
- 4,096 Wh
- 4,000 W
- 51.5 kg
- 2,600 W
Search Amazon.co.uk: EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3UK figures
- 51.5 kg
- 2,600 W
- 10 ms or less
- EcoFlow UK page, 11 October 2026
Questions
Is a solar panel worth it for a power station in the UK?
In summer, yes: a 200 W panel facing south gives about 0.7–0.86 kWh a day on average in June across London, Cardiff, Manchester, Belfast and Glasgow (PVGIS). In December the same panel averages only 0.13–0.25 kWh a day, enough to top up phones and a router but not to run a fridge-freezer. For a winter cut, don't count on solar alone.
What solar panel do I need for my power station?
One whose wattage isn't far above the station's solar input and whose open-circuit voltage sits inside its input range: 11–55 V on the EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus, 12–60 V on the BLUETTI Elite 200 V2, for example. More watts than the input just goes unused; more volts can stop it charging. The station's manual lists the connector and range.
How long does a power station take to charge from solar?
Makers quote ideal conditions: 1.5 hours for the EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus with 220 W, 2.8 hours for the Jackery Explorer 500 v2 with 200 W, 5.5 hours for the Explorer 2000 v2 with 400 W, 70 minutes for the BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 with 1,000 W. In a British December, PVGIS shows a 200 W panel averages under 0.25 kWh in a whole day.
Does a solar panel charge on a cloudy day?
Yes, but much less. The PVGIS figures here are monthly averages that include cloudy days; one grey December day can fall well below them.
What is a solar generator?
The marketing name for a portable power station sold with one or more folding solar panels. There's no engine and no fuel: the panel charges the station's battery and the station supplies its sockets and USB ports.
Keep reading
Sources
See all 17 sources
- Jackery Explorer 240 v2: maker's UK page
- EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus: maker's UK page
- BLUETTI Elite 30 V2: maker's UK page
- Anker SOLIX C300X: maker's UK page
- Jackery Explorer 500 v2: maker's UK page
- EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus: maker's UK page
- BLUETTI Elite 100 V2: maker's UK page
- Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2: maker's UK page
- Jackery Explorer 1000 v2: maker's UK page
- Jackery Explorer 2000 v2: maker's UK page
- EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus: maker's UK page
- Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2: maker's UK page
- BLUETTI Elite 200 V2: maker's UK page
- EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3: maker's UK page
- European Commission JRC, PVGIS 5.3 (PVGIS-SARAH3): 0.2 kWp, 14 % losses, optimum angle
- BLUETTI, runtime formula (capacity × 0.9 depth of discharge × 0.85 inverter efficiency ÷ load) and about 10 W self-consumption, from its Elite 200 V2 and Elite 100 V2 pages
- UK Government, Prepare: Get prepared for emergencies (emergency kit list)