Skip to content

Calculator · UK power cut, 230 V

Power station for a power cut: how many hours will it last?

In a power cut the first things you miss are light, the router and a charged phone; the first thing you lose is the food in the fridge-freezer. A portable power station can run all of them for a while. How long depends on what they draw and on the battery, and that is a sum you can do here.

Work out my hours

usable from every 1,000 Wh on the box
765Wh
a closed fridge stays cold (FSA)
4h
UK stations with their figures
14

Station figures from each maker's UK page, read on 11 October 2026.

AdLinks marked Ad go to Amazon.co.uk or a brand's official UK store. If you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you; it never decides what we list. We show no prices: the store shows the current one.

If you only read this

Three uses, one station for each, chosen by fixed rules on the figures from each maker's UK page. They are not our own tests.

  • Phones, router and light

    EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus

    Capacity
    286 Wh
    Continuous output
    600 W

    Among the smallest from 200 Wh: 286 Wh and 600 W, 4.7 kg.

    Search Amazon.co.uk: EcoFlow RIVER 3 PlusAdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • Fridge-freezer and the basics

    Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2

    Capacity
    1,024 Wh
    Continuous output
    2,000 W

    Among the lightest from 1,000 Wh and 1,000 W (11.29 kg). About 13 h with a fridge-freezer, router, lights and phones.

    Search Amazon.co.uk: Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • More than a day with the fridge-freezer

    Jackery Explorer 2000 v2

    Capacity
    2,042 Wh
    Continuous output
    2,200 W

    2,200 W for the odd short burst of a bigger appliance. About 1 day 1 h with a fridge-freezer, router, lights and phones.

    Search Amazon.co.uk: Jackery Explorer 2000 v2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon

Opens in a new tab. The store shows the price and stock.

Hours are estimates: each appliance's draw, cycling and startup change the result.

See the 14 stations and their UPS times

Calculator: how many hours?

The calculator uses BLUETTI's published runtime formula with UK appliance figures, and runs in your browser: it sends nothing anywhere. It starts with the Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 running a fridge-freezer, the broadband router, three LED bulbs and two phone charges a day. Change anything.

13 h with Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2

See result
1. What you want to keep on

Pick a starting point and change what doesn’t fit.

  • Fridge-freezer

    34 W · 24 h a day· Adjust the watts and hours of Fridge-freezer

    34 W averaged over the day: Which?'s £79 a year at 26.32p is about 300 kWh (our sum). Divide the kWh/year on your energy label by 8.76 for yours. 250 W is the top of the 100–250 W a compressor draws while running.

  • Broadband router

    10 W · 24 h a day· Adjust the watts and hours of Broadband router

    10 W is a cautious figure; one ISP router measured about 4–4.5 W. A separate fibre box (ONT) needs power too.

  • LED bulb or lamp

    11 W · 5 h a day· Adjust the watts and hours of LED bulb or lamp

    An 11 W LED gives the light of a 60 W halogen (Which?). Battery lanterns save this energy altogether.

  • Full phone charge

    20 W · 1 h a day· Adjust the watts and hours of Full phone charge

    Estimate: phone batteries hold roughly 12–20 Wh, plus charging losses. A power bank does this job too.

Add an appliance
2. Which station

1,024 Wh and 2,000 W continuous output, from the maker's UK page.

Estimated runtime with Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2

13 h

Your appliances use 1,261 Wh a day and need 333 W if everything runs at once.

Show the sums
Energy used in a day
1,261 Wh
Usable energy of the station
783 Wh = 1,024 Wh × 0.9 × 0.85
Average draw
62.5 W = 1,261 Wh ÷ 24 h + 10 W the station uses itself
If everything runs at once
333 W against 2,000 W continuous output

Stations that cover your day

The smallest that last 24 hours with these appliances on.

Opens Amazon.co.uk in a new tab (a search: no UK listing is verified yet). It shows the price and stock.

An estimate, not a measurement: real runtime drops in the cold, with older appliances and with startup surges. For medical equipment (CPAP, oxygen concentrators) use the watts in its manual and make a plan with your care provider; this is not medical advice.

Where the appliance watts come from
  • Fridge-freezer: 34 W averaged over the day: Which?'s £79 a year at 26.32p is about 300 kWh (our sum). Divide the kWh/year on your energy label by 8.76 for yours. 250 W is the top of the 100–250 W a compressor draws while running. Source
  • Broadband router: 10 W is a cautious figure; one ISP router measured about 4–4.5 W. A separate fibre box (ONT) needs power too. Source
  • LED bulb or lamp: An 11 W LED gives the light of a 60 W halogen (Which?). Battery lanterns save this energy altogether. Source
  • Full phone charge: Estimate: phone batteries hold roughly 12–20 Wh, plus charging losses. A power bank does this job too.
  • CPAP (ResMed AirSense 11): 56.1 W typical, 73.2 W peak in ResMed's user guide. Use the figure in your own machine's guide. Source
  • Chest freezer: Which? estimates 178 kWh a year for an average chest freezer = 20 W averaged. Its compressor draw isn't published there: 250 W is an assumption, check the rating plate. Source
  • TV (55-inch LED): 55 W in standard mode, 90 W in HDR for one 55-inch LED set's energy label; a 55-inch OLED was 91 W. Your TV's label gives its figure. Source
  • Electric blanket (double): About 80 W for a double (EDF); single 40–60 W, king up to 250 W. Warming the bed for an hour, then off, is the thrifty way. Source
  • Gas combi boiler (electrics): 146–177 W while firing for one Ideal combi range; 6 h a day firing is our assumption. Most boilers are wired to a fused spur: ask an electrician before you plan on this. Source
  • Electric heater (1 kW panel): 1,000 W radiant panel; fan heaters and oil-filled radiators are usually 2,000 W. Each hour costs 1 kWh of battery. Source
  • Kettle: Estimate: UK kettles are commonly rated 2–3 kW (the rating is on the base). That is more than most stations' continuous output. 0.1 h is 6 minutes.

How the sums work

Rule of thumb: from every 1,000 Wh on the box you get about 765 Wh. Divide that by what your appliances draw on average and you have the hours.

The formula, step by step

BLUETTI publishes the formula on its product pages: hours = capacity (Wh) × depth of discharge × inverter efficiency ÷ (load in W + the station's own use), with 90 % depth of discharge, 85 % efficiency and about 10 W of self-consumption. Because appliances switch on and off through the day, the load in the formula is the day's average: the energy of everything over 24 hours, divided by 24.

The starting example, step by step: the fridge-freezer averages 34 W all day (816 Wh), the router 10 W all day (240 Wh), three 11 W LED bulbs for five hours (165 Wh) and two phone charges about 40 Wh. That's about 1,261 Wh a day, an average of 53 W, plus 10 W for the station. A 1,024 Wh station leaves 783 Wh usable, which at 63 W lasts about 13 h.

The calculator also adds up what runs at the same moment, with the fridge-freezer's compressor at 250 W, the top of the 100–250 W range we found, and compares it with the station's continuous output. Above that, the station cuts out to protect itself: nothing dangerous, but no power.

What size for your home

Same formula, same reference figures, three typical homes:

  • Essentials, no fridge (router, three LED bulbs, two phone charges, about 445 Wh a day): a 288 Wh compact gives about 7.7 h, a 512 Wh mid-size about 14 h and a 1,024 Wh about 1 day 3 h.
  • With the fridge-freezer (about 1,261 Wh a day): a 1,024 Wh station gives about 13 h, enough to get past the FSA's 4 hours and through a night; a 2,048 Wh station about 1 day 1 h.
  • A night with a CPAP (AirSense 11 at 56 W for 8 hours, a router and a phone): a 1,024 Wh station gives about 20 h. More in will a power station run a CPAP.
If the cut lasts days

For a cut of several days, capacity matters less than refilling it. A solar panel helps less in a British winter than you'd hope: our solar panel guide has the PVGIS figures for five UK cities, month by month.

14 stations and their UPS switchover

The fourth figure on each card is the UPS switchover time the maker states on its UK page: how quickly the station takes over when the mains drops, if you leave it plugged in with your appliances on it.

Compact (under 500 Wh)

  • Jackery Explorer 240 v2

    Capacity
    256 Wh
    Continuous output
    300 W
    Weight
    3.6 kg
    UPS switchover
    ≤20 ms

    Pre-order on Jackery's UK store when we checked (11 October 2026): shipping from 26 October 2026.

    UK figures
    Weight
    3.6 kg
    Solar input
    Not stated on UK page
    UPS switchover
    20 ms or less
    Read on
    Jackery UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: Jackery Explorer 240 v2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus

    Capacity
    286 Wh
    Continuous output
    600 W
    Weight
    4.7 kg
    UPS switchover
    ≤10 ms
    UK figures
    Weight
    4.7 kg
    Solar input
    220 W
    UPS switchover
    10 ms or less
    Read on
    EcoFlow UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: EcoFlow RIVER 3 PlusAdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • BLUETTI Elite 30 V2

    Capacity
    288 Wh
    Continuous output
    600 W
    Weight
    4.3 kg
    UPS switchover
    ≤10 ms
    UK figures
    Weight
    4.3 kg
    Solar input
    Not stated on UK page
    UPS switchover
    10 ms or less
    Read on
    BLUETTI UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: BLUETTI Elite 30 V2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • Anker SOLIX C300X

    Capacity
    288 Wh
    Continuous output
    300 W
    Weight
    —
    UPS switchover
    —

    Sold in the UK as the C300X (AC and DC outlets). The C300 DC on the same store has no mains sockets. Anker's UK page did not list its weight when we checked.

    UK figures
    Weight
    Not stated on UK page
    Solar input
    100 W
    UPS switchover
    Not stated on UK page
    Read on
    Anker SOLIX UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: Anker SOLIX C300XAdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon

Mid-size (500–1,500 Wh)

  • Jackery Explorer 500 v2

    Capacity
    512 Wh
    Continuous output
    500 W
    Weight
    5.7 kg
    UPS switchover
    ≤10 ms
    UK figures
    Weight
    5.7 kg
    Solar input
    200 W
    UPS switchover
    10 ms or less
    Read on
    Jackery UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: Jackery Explorer 500 v2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus

    Capacity
    1,024 Wh
    Continuous output
    1,800 W
    Weight
    12.5 kg
    UPS switchover
    ≤10 ms

    EcoFlow UK sells it on the shared DELTA 3 series page: pick the Plus.

    UK figures
    Weight
    12.5 kg
    Solar input
    1,000 W
    UPS switchover
    10 ms or less
    Read on
    EcoFlow UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: EcoFlow DELTA 3 PlusAdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • BLUETTI Elite 100 V2

    Capacity
    1,024 Wh
    Continuous output
    1,800 W
    Weight
    11.5 kg
    UPS switchover
    ≤10 ms
    UK figures
    Weight
    11.5 kg
    Solar input
    1,000 W
    UPS switchover
    10 ms or less
    Read on
    BLUETTI UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: BLUETTI Elite 100 V2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2

    Capacity
    1,024 Wh
    Continuous output
    2,000 W
    Weight
    11.3 kg
    UPS switchover
    ≤10 ms
    UK figures
    Weight
    11.29 kg
    Solar input
    600 W
    UPS switchover
    10 ms or less
    Read on
    Anker SOLIX UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • Jackery Explorer 1000 v2

    Capacity
    1,070 Wh
    Continuous output
    1,500 W
    Weight
    —
    UPS switchover
    ≤20 ms
    UK figures
    Weight
    Not stated on UK page
    Solar input
    Not stated on UK page
    UPS switchover
    20 ms or less
    Read on
    Jackery UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: Jackery Explorer 1000 v2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon

Large (over 1,500 Wh)

  • Jackery Explorer 2000 v2

    Capacity
    2,042 Wh
    Continuous output
    2,200 W
    Weight
    17.5 kg
    UPS switchover
    ≤20 ms
    UK figures
    Weight
    17.5 kg
    Solar input
    400 W
    UPS switchover
    20 ms or less
    Read on
    Jackery UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: Jackery Explorer 2000 v2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus

    Capacity
    2,048 Wh
    Continuous output
    3,000 W
    Weight
    22.1 kg
    UPS switchover
    ≤10 ms

    Pre-order on EcoFlow's UK store when we checked (11 October 2026): shipping from 30 October 2026. Sold on the shared DELTA 3 Max series page: pick the Max Plus.

    UK figures
    Weight
    22.1 kg
    Solar input
    1,000 W
    UPS switchover
    10 ms or less
    Read on
    EcoFlow UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max PlusAdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2

    Capacity
    2,048 Wh
    Continuous output
    2,400 W
    Weight
    18.9 kg
    UPS switchover
    ≤10 ms
    UK figures
    Weight
    18.9 kg
    Solar input
    Not stated on UK page
    UPS switchover
    10 ms or less
    Read on
    Anker SOLIX UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • BLUETTI Elite 200 V2

    Capacity
    2,073.6 Wh
    Continuous output
    2,600 W
    Weight
    —
    UPS switchover
    —
    UK figures
    Weight
    Not stated on UK page
    Solar input
    1,000 W
    UPS switchover
    Not stated on UK page
    Read on
    BLUETTI UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: BLUETTI Elite 200 V2AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon
  • EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3

    Capacity
    4,096 Wh
    Continuous output
    4,000 W
    Weight
    51.5 kg
    UPS switchover
    ≤10 ms
    UK figures
    Weight
    51.5 kg
    Solar input
    2,600 W
    UPS switchover
    10 ms or less
    Read on
    EcoFlow UK page, 11 October 2026
    Search Amazon.co.uk: EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3AdOpens a search: pick the listing on Amazon

What to keep on, in order

  1. Light. LED lamps or battery lanterns rather than candles: the government's Prepare advice says torches are safer than candles.
  2. Communication. Phones, and the router if the network outside is still up. A battery or wind-up radio is the backup when both fail, and it's on the Prepare list.
  3. The fridge-freezer, once the cut runs long. The Food Standards Agency says a cut of under 4 hours is unlikely to affect chilled or frozen food; a full freezer stays frozen for up to 48 hours if you keep it shut. Past that, the station earns its keep. See will a power station run a fridge-freezer.
  4. Medical equipment, planned with your care provider in advance, as Prepare asks.
What not to run from a station

Heaters, kettles, ovens and immersion heaters draw 1,000–3,000 W: each hour of a 1 kW heater uses about a whole 1,000 Wh station. To keep warm, Prepare suggests blankets, layers, closing doors to unused rooms and drawing the curtains; an electric blanket uses a fraction of a heater's energy. And see why the gas combi boiler is an electrician's job first.

Three things not to do

  • Run a petrol generator, barbecue or camping stove indoors or in the garage. The NHS lists portable generators among the causes of carbon monoxide poisoning and warns against barbecues and camping stoves indoors. More in generator or power station.
  • Plug a station or generator into a wall socket to power the house. It back-feeds the house wiring. Plug appliances into the station; anything wired into the house is a job for a qualified electrician.
  • Keep opening the fridge. Every opening shortens how long it stays cold. Plan what you need and shut it.

Questions

How long will a portable power station last in a power cut?

It depends on its size and what you plug in. With BLUETTI's formula (capacity × 0.9 × 0.85 ÷ average load plus about 10 W for the station), a 1,024 Wh station running a fridge-freezer, a router, three LED bulbs and two phone charges lasts about 13 h; without the fridge-freezer, about 1 day 3 h. The calculator on this page does the sums with your appliances.

What should I keep running first in a power cut?

Light and communication first: torches or LED lamps, phones and, if the network is up, the router. Then the fridge-freezer once the cut passes the 4 hours the Food Standards Agency says a closed fridge stays cold. Leave heaters, kettles and ovens off the station.

Can I connect a power station to my house wiring?

Not by plugging it into a wall socket: that would feed power back into the house wiring and the network. Plug appliances into the station instead. Anything wired into the house, like a boiler on a fused spur, needs a qualified electrician.

Is a power station better than a power bank in a power cut?

For phones, a torch and a radio, a power bank is enough and it's on the government's Prepare kit list. For the router, a laptop, a CPAP or the fridge-freezer you need mains sockets and hundreds of Wh: a power station. Many homes have both.

Should I register for the Priority Services Register?

If anyone at home is of pensionable age, has children aged five or under, a health condition, or relies on electricity for medical equipment, check thepsr.co.uk. It's free in England, Scotland and Wales and gives extra support during an outage.

The rest of the plan

The station covers electricity. Water, food, light, a radio and the Priority Services Register are the rest.

Sources

Every figure on this page comes from one of these pages, read on the date shown. If a maker changes its page, its page wins.

See all 29 sources